Watchmen – The Huge Anticipation

When I originally watched the first trailer for Watchmen, I shrugged my shoulders, yawned, and moved on. But it intrigued me to some extent. It purported to be “The Most Celebrated Graphic Novel of All Time”, or something along those lines. Really, now? I’ve read a number of “celebrated” graphic novels. I used to be hugely into comic books. X-Men and Spider-Man mostly. Batman a bit as well. But I’d never heard of Watchmen. It couldn’t be THAT popular. Or THAT celebrated. So, to Wikipedia I went. And as I did more research, I realized I’d really been missing out. So I went out, got a copy of Watchmen (the graphic novel), and read it. It took a while, because of how busy the election made me. But finish it I did. And since, I have realized just how excited I am for this movie to come out.

There are really two reasons that I’m so excited. The first is how truly remarkable the graphic novel is. Now that it’s coming to the big screen, I get to experience it all over again. The second is how well it seems the film is being made, and how closely it seems to be following the graphic novel. That’s a very, very good thing. It’s the kind of thing that doesn’t really need to be adapted to the screen so much as it needs to be portrayed on screen.

Yet there are a couple of things that have me worried. The first is how truly remarkable the graphic novel is. The second is the director, Zack Snyder. I can’t say he has a wonderful track record. There is one caveat to his work on 300, though. As far as I know, he very faithfully brought the graphic novel to screen. Maybe part of the reason that 300 wasn’t a great movie was that it was too faithful to the source material. With Watchmen, however, that could be a very, very good thing.

Frankly, after watching both trailers for Watchmen, I couldn’t be more excited, or have more anticipation for it. I hope I don’t get my hopes up on this one.

Late Update: You can watch both trailers for Watchmen in full, glorious HD right here.

Leave a Reply

